Neil Parish MP will Chair Environment Select Committee

Neil Parish, MP for Tiverton and Honiton, has been elected as Chairman of the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (EFRA) Select Committee after being the sole candidate nominated for the post. Nominations for the election of Select Committee Chairs closed at 5pm on Wednesday 10th June.  The full results of the elections for all committees will be announced on Thursday 18th June.

Neil, who is a former West Country farmer, said:

"I am very pleased to have been nominated as chair of the EFRA committee. Over the past five years, I have enjoyed being a member of the Committee and look forward to helping make sure that issues concerning our countryside, environment, flooding and food security are properly dealt with. I also look forward very much to working with parliamentary colleagues across the parties to contribute to shaping policy in those areas."